The Cradle of Irrationality

I could very well stomp upon the countless examples of the destructive power of faith. I could talk about the sheer ignorance, bigotry, homophobia, violence and even fascism that religions bring to the modern world. And on doing so, I’d easily annoy all those who call themselves “moderately religious”.

But that would be too easy. No, I’d rather talk about the very foundation of religion, blind faith in an omnipotent power, which makes it a dangerous magisterium indeed.

Religion may be seemingly harmless, even beneficial! But what most people fail to realize is that  it’s an excuse to discard all logic and reason. Religion sets a precedent that it’s okay to believe in something without reason or evidence. All it takes is a religious man uttering two magical words, “I believe” and all logic can very well fly out of the window.

A religious fanatic can show up at my house with a gun and say, “I believe that you need to die because you’re an Atheist” and all I can do is stand by silently and wait for the bullet to pierce my skull. “I believe” is the best argument of all time. You cannot engage the speaker of those words in a rational debate or try to negotiate with him. You just have to step back and shut up.

If my gunman example is too dramatic for your taste, allow me to bring to your attention a much more common way through which religion is impeding the progress of man: the interference of religion in matters of science. It’s funny how the creationists love to act like geniuses and try to poke holes in an established scientific fact that is evolution. Would you expect the same kind of fierce questioning if the scientists one day discover that Jesus had only maternal DNA and his conception was, in fact, immaculate? Would you expect a Christian to rise up and say, “Nah, that theory has too many holes in it!” Certainly not! Such opposition is reserved only for the aspect of science which threatens their religious agenda.

I say enough! I’m all in for freedom of belief, which is why I cannot really force people to think the way I do. But it’s imperative that they realize on their own that religion is not a benign force.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

