With Love, To Fellow Outsiders

For long, homosexuality has been a popular sub-genre of comedy. And to such an appalling extent that public seems to have forgotten that behind every gay facade lies an actual human being with feelings – a human no different from you and I. An individual need not be defined by his or her sexual orientation, there’s more to it than that. Public has been deluded into believing that any gay person being truthful about his sexual orientation has signed an official consent to be ridiculed, and even worse, bullied.

I’ve always been an outsider. In school, I was bullied for being fat. Now in college, I’m detested for being “too angrez” or “too liberal”. My opinions on religion, politics and most social issues offend nearly everybody around me, which is why I tend to restrict my voice to the web-ways where I can enjoy a vital level of anonymity. Dear friends and cherished acquaintances who know me in real life, if I start to speak my mind openly, half of you would decant a gallon of  kerosene on my head and set me on fire, while the other half says, “Quick! Get some popcorn!”

But this isn’t about me. It’s about all of you out there who have been persecuted for the “crime” of simply being yourself. Trust me when I say that I know what it’s like to be surrounded by ignoramuses – cretins who live in their very own bubbles and are completely incapable of comprehending perspectives that don’t precisely concur with theirs.

It was thoroughly heart-wrenching to hear about the four young American boys who committed suicide after being mercilessly bullied for being gay. This series of tragedies has reminded not only Americans, but people all around the world that we’ve taken this ignominious crusade against homosexuality too far.

We’re all responsible – all of us who’ve used the word “gay” in a derogatory sense to describe things we don’t like. “This song’s totally gay!”….”Stop being so gay, dude!”…

Most of us display homophobia entirely on religious grounds. Those of us who think that it’s acceptable to allow our personal religious beliefs to encroach upon the lives of others and become a pain for them. If you’re one of them, I implore you to Google the term, “Moral Relativism”. Go ahead, do it.

Many try to rationalize their flaming homophobia by attempting to sound all sciency. “You see, homosexuality is bad because anal intercourse increases the risk of contracting venereal diseases like AIDS”. Touché, imbecile. Since you’re such a health-nut, why not issue a fatwa against hamburgers and ice-creams as well? Were you not aware that diabetes and coronary heart disease are becoming increasingly prevalent? Why single out homosexual behavior?

My pathology professor found it imperative to display his acute homophobia during a lecture by saying, “HIV is a curse from Allah for people who engage in anal sex”. I kept waiting for the part where he claims that Avian Influenza is a curse from God for people who eat chicken, but that gem of information never came.

If your religion does not permit homosexual acts, that’s fine. Those are your rules and follow them, you must. But one mustn’t breathe down other people’s neck and harass them for what they do choose to do with their own lives.

It’s enough..really! Ever heard of the phrase, “Live and let live”? It applies here.

And all Pakistanis who have found the courage to come out of the closet in-spite of the thick air of homophobia most Pakistanis pride themselves in maintaining, I applaud you. It gets better…just wait.

    • Nuwas Manto
    • November 27th, 2010

    Dear loneliberalpk,
    I am highly impressed by your piece.Its highly comprehensible and in language a layman can understand. Its people like you who make me affirm my believe that Pakistan still has hope.
    I believe if I were you i would have stood up in class and said the same words to that idiotic professor. But thats just me and I understand your being closeted about your pro-gay stance.
    I am relatively open to my friends and even family and while I do get negativity I am also lucky to have freedom enough to engage in debates with my friends who although might be homophobic,donot give a fig about what I do in my bed. Nevertheless they do get embarrassed because apparently I am not man enough due to my facial expressions and effeminacy.
    Kindly keep up your support for LGBT community and I am eagerly awaiting your next piece on your thoughts about Queer Issues.
    Nuwas Manto.
    http://www.myhumanistblog.blogspot.com

  1. before this write up I was ignorant of homosexuality, kind of indifferent I would say but you gave me logical of being supporters of “humanity”. Thanks for your write up. Really liked it.

  2. logic*

    • loneliberalpk
    • November 27th, 2010

    Thanks Tanzeel and Nuwas

    • Tanzeel
    • December 3rd, 2010

    LL, Get your blog registered here http://www.pakpositive.com/pakistanibloggers/

    This site will help increase traffic on your thought provoking blogsite.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

