Misandry: No, seriously! It exists!

(Note: I have officially disowned part of this piece. My perspective has evolved since the time I wrote it)

If I am asked to make a list of scientists and freethinkers who have not been harshly criticized by the radical feminist banshees at one point or another, I’d find myself in a pretty tough spot.

Richard Dawkins, the poster-man of atheism, was savagely attacked by feminists over his failure to make a fuss about Rebecca Watson being propositioned in an elevator. Christopher Hitchens was humiliated merely for saying that women can choose not to work, if they don’t want to. Stephen Hawking generated controversy when he jokingly claimed that women are a mystery to him. Satoshi Kanazawa (and Psychology Today as whole) has been blasted for his views on modern feminism. And Bill Maher…ooh boy.

Nothing is spared from the pointy end of the radical feminist saber. Science, religion, atheism, comedy, sex, everything is an affront to the sanctity of the ovary. Misogynism, however thinly veiled, elicits instant criticism (and rightfully so). Misandry, on the other hand, is politically correct. There’s little problem with women laughing about a man’s penis being chopped off by an angry wife (link: pardon the obscenity), though I have a feeling they’d be less thrilled if the situation involved a woman’s clitoris. Nothing wrong with Alice Walker’s hateful rants about men in the Pulitzer work, The Color Purple. Or about everyday females complaining about how all men are jerks/creeps/liars/idiots.

The new wave of feminists has usurped the movement and turned into a man-haters club, the purpose of which is not to do what’s best for the women, but to do what antagonizes men the most. This is why I often hesitate to call myself a feminist, which I am, because of what the term now implies. It is politically incorrect of me to even have a penis, and if I spend the rest of my life in profound self-loathing, I might be able to partly atone for the injustices rendered historically by my kind.

Ever heard of the term, “Ladies first”? Believe it or not, it was invented by the ‘patriarchal society’. When the Titanic was sinking, it was mostly the men who went down with the ship while the women and children were stuffed into the lifeboats. If I quit my job and my family suffers a financial crisis, the society won’t tell my wife to get a job. It will scowl at me for failing to support my wife. In the recent Colorado shooting, three men sacrificed their lives to save their girlfriends. Why wasn’t it the other way around? Because the society has indoctrinated men that it’s their burden to defend women from harm. If a woman does the same for her man, she becomes an icon. If a man does it for his woman, well…that’s what he’s supposed to do, isn’t he? What kind of a man would he be if he hadn’t?

The demands of many of the modern feminists are not rights at all, they are privileges. And these are in addition to the traditional privileges that women receive in the name of “chivalry”, which many of the newer feminists seem to have no interest in relinquishing in the name of equity. Exit feminism, enter femdom.

The traditional social structure has been far more unfair for women than it has been for men. That does not mean that men were living a carefree existence prior to the feminist movement. They too were victims of this structure, and they suffered as well. While it’s understandable that feminism should focus on women’s needs as they’ve had it way worse than men, this cannot be done at the expense of the rights and dignity of the male. That’s the other part of feminism that often gets swept under the rug.

While feminism is extremely relevant in countries like Pakistan where women are treated horribly, it’s value continues to dwindle in the developed world. With the feminist fervor still very much alive, and fewer problems to grieve about, modern feminists are now actively inventing new ways of how women are being insulted or discriminated against. Virtually no opportunity is left unexploited to climb on the cross. Soon enough, we’d be hearing a Tumblr feminist complain about how women not being allowed to enter men’s bathroom is sexist too.

To act as if the cosmos revolve expressly around the female, is something I do not stand for. Jessica Valenti once bitched about how the worst thing you call a man is a woman (fag, girl, bitch, pussy). Well, I must ask Valenti to stop being a dick, and get a hold of herself.

    • H.
    • August 8th, 2012

    If rape jokes concerning women are allowed, then why not penis-getting-chopped-off ones?

    Also, of course feminists are against the idea of chivalry, ever heard of ‘benevolent sexism’? Feminist don’t want to be protected or cherished by men, they want to be protected from men. Feminists have been saying for ages that patriarchy also hurts some men, yet its the men who don’t want to admit it.

    • I’m perfectly fine with the chopped-off-penis genre of comedy, as long as the joke operates in a hypothetical realm and is not a personal swipe at somebody who is an actual victim of such an incident. In the aforementioned video, the latter took place.

      If you’re comparing this with the Daniel Tosh incident, know that I’m against that as well. He got personal with the heckler, and he shouldn’t have.

      Feminism is not a unified school of thought, and I’m aware of it. That’s why my posts on this topic are often replete with words like “some”, “many” and “most”. Trying to distinguish “tumblr feminists” with inchoate ideas, from the more well-informed ones.

      For them, feminism is an opportunity for brazen self-victimization. Those who have a proclivity to pretend that they and they alone are the victims of traditional social structures. I am referring to such ‘feminists’.

  1. I don’t have the time or the patience to correct the many, many misconceptions and problems in this post, as in previous ones. I was still sticking around, because I enjoyed the atheism-related posts you made, but after yet another hyperbolic article making digs at a whole movement with no attempt at nuance or understanding, using points so flawed that I can’t even begin to point out the problems in them, I’m unfollowing too. Good luck to you.

    • While writing this post in my characteristically colorful (vulgar?) way, I was painfully aware that it would offend you deeply if you came across it. I’m truly sorry about that.

      I’m not wrong, however, considering that I’m talking about a certain class of feminists, and not the feminist movement in general (of which I am a part of).

      I get to hear all the time about my misconceptions, and understand that I could be wrong. Well, enlighten me! Tell me what precisely have I said that is not entirely true. Just because you may not share the ideas that I highlight here, does not mean that they do not exist within the feminist sphere.

    • Menarenotassholes
    • August 10th, 2012

    Feminists often claim that they make half of what a man makes. If it was true then why would any company hire men if they could get women to do it for half and thus maximize profits. Real feminists want equality of gender. Fake feminists want to view all men as evil and turn the male dominated society into a female dominated society.
    Just because they have a penis does not make them evil.

    • The part about women working more for less pay is true if you count the housework as well. In the workplace, however, women do usually get a fair pay for the effort they put in.

      I couldn’t agree more with the part about fake feminists.

        • Menarenotassholes
        • August 11th, 2012

        Anyways man it is good to see an atheist in Pakistan.

    • Big Rizvi
    • August 11th, 2012

    Believe it or not, I have been a target of the feminist nazis (man-haters/feminist extremists) in Pakistan and I still am. The girls in my school treat me like dirt just because I am a Pakistani male and don’t hold a foreign passport like they do and I prefer Rock n’ Roll and Metal over thier cheap commercial songs. It is because I am a Pakistani male that I get branded as a taliban, misogynist, rapist, murderer, etc. However, I am nothing of the sort. Yes, and all this has happened to me INSIDE the so called land of the pure. I am not convinced that they are fake feminists, just extremists looking for my blood, male Pakistani blood. Because I often forget to shave, I get branded as a Taliban because I have a manly bit of facial hair on me. What ever happened to the days when the beard was a sign of leadership and testosterone? I haven’t done anything to them, why are they still after me? Is it really this bad to possess a penis to them?

    • I’d be surprised if you weren’t a target.

      Many modern feminists have made somewhat of a career in trying to figure out how every community, organization and institution on the face of the Earth is misogynistic.

      In my mind, and the minds of many others, feminism is the noble mission of helping women attain the same rights and opportunities as men. Unfortunately, that definition is lost somewhere within a colossal archive of untested notions and hypotheses on how to achieve such a goal. Some of these ideas are based entirely on hatred for men, and have very little to do with liberty and egalitarianism.

      When these ideas are challenged, feminists roll back to the basic definition and claim that you’re a misogynist who doesn’t support the idea of gender equality. Whereas all the rationalists are doing is questioning some of these modern notions on how this equality is to be achieved.

    • Big Rizvi
    • August 11th, 2012

    Well said. What good is a society that targets it’s own people. Living as a second rate citizen abroad? Understandable. Living as a second rate citizen in my own country? What. On. Earth? My land has been stolen from me? Seems legit enough.

  2. You can certainly see your enthusiasm within the article you write.
    The arena hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how they believe.
    Always follow your heart.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

